Site Menu

How to File a Mississippi Tax Amendment

Mississippi State Taxes
amend Mississippi taxes
Mississippi
"The Magnolia State"

When Do I Need to File My Amended Mississippi Tax Return?

Your Mississippi state tax amendment should be filed within 3 years of the original tax return filing deadline, or 2 years from the time when tax was paid (whichever is later).

How Do I Correct My Accepted Mississippi Tax Return or File a Tax Amendment in Mississippi?

You will need to prepare and file an amended Mississippi tax form. Here's how: 

  1. Download and complete Form 80-105 (residents) or Form 80-205 yourself.
  2. Print out the form and mail it to either: Department of Revenue, Post Office Box 23058, Jackson, MS 39225-3058 (expecting a refund) or Department of Revenue, Post Office Box 23050, Jackson, MS 39225-3050 (not expecting a refund or need to pay additional tax).

Mississippi State Tax Amendment Forms (Download, Fill Out, Print Out, and Mail)

Fill out the Amended Individual Income Tax Return form for the corresponding tax year. Residents (taxpayers who maintain a permanent home in the state and returns there after periods of absence) should file the form for residents. Nonresidents or part-year residents should file the special form for them.

Resident Forms

Form (Tax Year) Description
Form 80-105 (2016) Mississippi Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-105 (2015) Mississippi Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-105 (2014) Mississippi Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-105 (2013) Mississippi Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-105 (2012) Mississippi Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-170 (2011) Mississippi Resident Amended Individual Income Tax Return

Nonresident and Part-year Resident Forms

Form (Tax Year) Description
Form 80-205 (2016) Mississippi Non-Resident / Part-Year Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-205 (2015) Mississippi Non-Resident / Part-Year Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-205 (2014) Mississippi Non-Resident / Part-Year Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-205 (2013) Mississippi Non-Resident / Part-Year Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-205 (2012) Mississippi Non-Resident / Part-Year Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-270 (2011) Mississippi Non-Resident / Part-Year Resident Individual Income Tax Return

How Do I Check the Status of My Mississippi State Amended Tax Return?

You can call the Mississippi Department of Revenue at (601) 923-7000.

What Are the Penalties, Interest, and Fees Associated With Mississippi State Tax Amendment?

The state of Mississippi charges interest on overdue payments of tax at a rate of 1% per month. In addition, a late payment penalty is assessed and amounts to 0.5% per month and can't exceed 25%.

Where Do I Mail My Amended Mississippi Tax Return? - Mississippi Mailing Address:

If you expect a refund, mail your amended return to:

Department of Revenue
Post Office Box 23058
Jackson, MS 39225-3058

If you don't expect a refund or have to pay additional tax, mail your amended return to:

Department of Revenue
Post Office Box 23050
Jackson, MS 39225-3050

Mississippi Department of Revenue Phone Number: (601) 923-7000

Mississippi Department of Revenue

Where Do I Find More Mississippi State Tax Information?

How Do I Only File My Mississippi Tax Return?

Where is My Mississippi State Tax Refund?

Mississippi Tax Extension

Mississippi State Taxes

What If I Need to Fix My Accepted Federal Return?

Learn how to file a federal tax amendment.