IRS Tax Filing Deadline Relief

Tax Relief for Natural Disasters

When a tax deadline falls around the time of a natural disaster, the IRS provides tax relief to victims of federally declared disasters. If you reside in a state that has been struck by a hurricane, flood, wildfire, earthquake, or other disaster, you may qualify for extended deadlines to file your return and submit your payments. When you prepare and e-File your 2019 Tax Return on, your return is submitted to the IRS quickly. Click the button below to start for free: 

Start Your Tax Return Now

2019 Tax Return Filing Deadlines

Below are the 2019 Tax Return filing and tax payment deadlines. 

Tornatos, Severe Storms, and Flooding in the South

The IRS extended the deadine to October 15, 2020 in the following states and counties: 

  • Mississippi: Clarke, Covington, Grenada, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lawrence, Panola, and Walthall 
  • Tennessee: Bradley and Hamilton 
  • South Carolina: Aiken, Barnwell, Berkeley, Colleton, Hampton, Marlboro, Oconee, Orangeburg, and Pickens

Oregon Severe Storms, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

The IRS extended the deadine to July 15, 2020 for Oregon taxpayers living in Umatilla County and the Confiderated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation.

Tennessee Severe Storms and Flooding

The IRS has extended the deadline to July 15, 2020 in the following Tennessee counties:

  • Davidson
  • Putnam
  • Wilson 

Tax Year 2018 Tax Return Filing Deadlines

If you experienced a natural disaster that affects your 2018 Tax Return (find and complete 2018 Tax Forms to sign and mail to the IRS), see all the natural disasters that qualify for 2018 tax return and payment deadline extensions below. They apply to taxpayers living or working in a location the IRS declares as a disaster area, those who need to submit quarterly estimated taxes by April 15, 2019 or filed an extension on or by April 15, 2019.

Topical Storm Imelda

The IRS extended the deadline to January 31, 2020 in the following Texas counties:

  • Chambers
  • Harris
  • Jefferson
  • Liberty
  • Montgomery
  • Orange

This deadline only applies to taxpayers who filed an extension on or by April 15, 2019 and their original tax return filing deadline was October 15, 2019. Tax payments that were due on April 15, 2019 do not qualify for the extended deadline. 

Oklahoma Severe Storms, Tornados, Straight-Line Winds, and Flooding

The IRS extended the deadline to September 16, 2019 in the following counties:

  • Muskogee
  • Tulsa
  • Wagoner

Iowa Severe Storms and Flooding

The IRS extended the deadline to July 31, 2019 in the following counties:

  • Fremont
  • Harrison
  • Louisa
  • Mills
  • Monona
  • Pottawattamie
  • Scott
  • Shelby
  • Woodbury

Nebraska Winter Storms, Straight-Line Winds, and Flooding

The IRS extended the deadline to July 31, 2019 in the following counties: 

  • Antelope
  • Boone
  • Boyd
  • Buffalo
  • Butler
  • Burt
  • Cass
  • Colfax
  • Cuming
  • Custer
  • Dodge
  • Douglas
  • Hall
  • Howard
  • Knox
  • Madison
  • Nance
  • Nemaha
  • Pierce
  • Platte
  • Richardson
  • Saline
  • Sarpy
  • Saunders
  • Stanton
  • Thurston
  • Washington counties

The Santee Sioux Nation also qualifies for the extended tax return filing deadline. 

Alabama Tornados, Severe Storms, and Straight-Line Winds

The IRS extended the deadline to July 31, 2019 in Lee County. 

How to Prepare Tax Records for a Natural Disaster 

The IRS recommends completing these tax tasks to prepare tax records for a federally declared disaster: 

  • Keep original copies of tax-related documents (W-2s, previous tax returns, bank statements, etc.) in waterproof containers and in a safe place. If you do not have copies of your returns, you may obtain tax return copies or tax return transcripts from the IRS. If you prepare and efile your return on, you will have 24-hour, 7 days a week access to a PDF copy of your return.
  • Make an electronic backup of your tax documents. You may need to store this electronic set of records in a different location than the originals.
  • Take photographs or videos of valuables items in case they get damaged. You can use the photos or videos as documentation when claiming uninsured or unreimbursed disaster-related loss tax deductions on your tax return. 

Find the most recent IRS disaster relief announcements on the IRS website.



eFile Something by July 15, Even If You Can't Pay Anything.     Details