How to File an Oklahoma Tax Amendment
When Do I Need to File My Oklahoma State Tax Amendment?
The amended tax return should be filed within 3 years of the filing deadline for the original tax return, or 2 years from the time when tax was paid, whichever is later.
How Do I Fix My Accepted Oklahoma Tax Return or File an Amendment in Oklahoma?
According to Oklahoma tax law, if you or the IRS made changes to your federal income tax return, then you must file an OK tax amendment form. Before filing the form, if you wish to avoid delays with your Oklahoma tax amendment, you must make sure to have confirmation from the IRS that the changes to your federal income tax return have been processed.
Follow these instructions on how to amend your Oklahoma tax return:
- Download and complete Form 511 (residents) or Form 511NR (nonresidents and part-year residents).
- Print out the form and mail it to: Oklahoma Tax Commission, Post Office Box 26800, Oklahoma City, OK 73126-0800.
Oklahoma State Tax Amendment Forms (Download, Complete, Print Out, and Mail)
If you are a resident of Oklahoma, then you should fill out Form 511 for Tax Years 2014 and 2013. Form 511X should be completed for Tax Years 2011 and earlier.
If you are nonresident or part-year resident, then you should fill out form 511NR for the corresponding year.
A resident is defined as someone who is domiciled in the state of Oklahoma for the whole tax year. A domicile is a place that is established as a person's permanent and true residence. It is where the person comes back to after traveling, and there can only be one domicile at a time.
A nonresident is defined as someone who is domiciled in the state of Oklahoma for less than the whole tax year. A part year resident is defined as someone who is not domiciled in the state of Oklahoma at all.
Effective Tax Year 2013, Form 511 will be amended by a check box on the Form 511.
Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Forms
How Do I Check My Oklahoma Tax Amendment Status?
You can call the Oklahoma Tax Commission at (405) 521-3160.
What Are the Penalties, Interest, and Fees Related to Oklahoma Amended Tax Returns?
The state of Oklahoma charges penalties for various violations. A delinquent penalty is charged when at least 90% of the tax is not paid by the deadline. The penalty amounts to 5%.
Interest is charged on unpaid tax, and it amounts to 1.25% per month, accruing from the payment deadline to the date when the tax along with any penalty or accumulated interest is paid in full.
If a taxpayer underpaid the estimated tax, the interest charged on the underpayment will be 20% per year, but only if the amount owed is $1,000 or more.
Where Do I Mail My Oklahoma Tax Amendment? - Oklahoma Mailing Address:
Oklahoma Tax Commission
Post Office Box 26800
Oklahoma City, OK 73126-0800
Oklahoma Tax Commission Phone Number: (405) 521-3160
Oklahoma Tax Commission
Where Do I Find More Information About Oklahoma Taxes?
How Do I Just File My Oklahoma Tax Return?
Where is My Oklahoma State Tax Refund?
Oklahoma Tax Extension
Oklahoma Income Tax
What If I Need to Correct My Federal Tax Return?
Learn how to amend your IRS taxes.