Amend A Tax Return For U.S. Territories

This page is currently being updated for Tax Year 2019 Tax Returns due on April 15, 2020. The 2020 eFile Tax Season starts in January 2020. Sign up to the Tax Win Zone for up-to-date information on U.S. Territory Amendments. 

The following U.S. territories will require an IRS or Federal tax amendment. You can prepare this on for the 2019 tax year in 2020 however,  you can not e-File the Amendment form 1040X. Please mail it to the address on the form:

These territories have their own tax codes, but U.S. residents, resident aliens, and nonresidents may need to file a U.S. federal income tax form. Since the federal income tax is the only income tax collected by the United States in American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, to amend a U.S. tax return, you need to file a federal tax amendment.

Forms for IRS or federal back taxes or other states.