North Dakota Income Taxes

efile North Dakota tax return
North Dakota
"The Peace Garden State"

Prepare and e-file your current year North Dakota state tax return - resident, nonresident, or part-year resident returns - with your IRS return via

  • State return only regulations*): Per IRS and North Dakota state tax agency regulation - not - you can NOT just prepare and e-file a state return (with the exception of California) without also e-filing the IRS return on the same platform. If you have filed your federal return already, you can prepare an North Dakota state return on and then download, print, and sign the return before you mail it in. See instructions on ONLY preparing and mailing in your North Dakota and/or other state tax returns.
  • Prepare and e-file your ND and IRS returns together on so you don't have to mail anything.

ND Tax Help and Resources

North Dakota State Income Tax Rate: 2.9%
Estimate your ND income taxes now
Compare other state income tax rates.
Where Is Your North Dakota Tax Refund Money?
Step 1: Sign into your account and check acceptance by the tax agency.
Step 2: Check your North Dakota tax refund status.
Where Is Your IRS Refund?
Step 1: Sign into your account and check acceptance by the IRS.
Step 2: Check your IRS tax refund status.
North Dakota Income Tax Extension
North Dakota Income Tax Amendment
How to Correct a Rejected Tax Return
If your ND tax return was rejected by the ND Tax Agency - not - see instructions on how to correct a rejected North Dakota tax return.
How to Pay Income Taxes
North Dakota IRS Late Filing, Tax Payment Penalties

1. Late Filing Penalty: For each month that a return is not filed, an additional 5% penalty will be assessed, up to a 25% maximum penalty of the tax due.

2. Late Payment Penalty: There is a 5% penalty on any tax that is not paid by the deadline or $5 (whichever is greater). The state of North Dakota charges a 1% interest rate on unpaid tax. It is computed from the filing deadline to the date when all tax, interest and penalties are fully paid. Interest is not collected for the first month a return is filed late.

3. IRS Penalties: Calculate and estimate your potential IRS income tax return penalties.
ND Tax Return Mailing Addresses
Find various North Dakota mailing addresses for tax returns, tax amendments, and tax payments.
North Dakota Income Tax Brackets
North Dakota Income Tax Forms
View or download ND Income tax forms by year.
North Dakota Unemployment Benefits
Unemployment income is taxed in North Dakota at the state level.
North Dakota Marriage Penalty

Start Federal and North Dakota Tax Returns

E-File These North Dakota State Tax Forms

Prepare and e-file these state forms for current tax year in conjunction with your federal and state income tax return. As you proceed through the tax interview on, the application will select the correct state forms for you. You can also select tax forms individually. All these forms will then be e-filed by you to the state tax agency. See instructions on how to only prepare a state income tax return.

ND Tax Form Current Tax Year
ND-1ES - Estimated Income Tax - Individuals
ND-1 - Individual Income Tax Return
ND-1CR - Credit For Income Tax Paid To Another State Or Local Jurisdiction
ND-1EXT - Individual Extension Payment Voucher
ND-1FC - Family Member Care Tax Credit
ND-1V - Individual E-File Return Payment Voucher
Schedule ND-1NR - Tax Calculation For Nonresidents And Part-Year Residents
Schedule ND-1QEC - Qualified Endowment Fund Tax Credit
Schedule ND-1UT - Underpayment Or Late Payment Of Estimated Income Tax For Individuals

* Due to IRS and state tax agency data sharing and validation requirements, you can only e-file a state income tax return while also e-filing a federal income tax return. This is not an created policy, but a federally regulated one which all online tax filing websites have to adhere to. You can, however, prepare all 44 state income tax returns on if you have already e-filed or filed your IRS return. View instructions on how you can ONLY prepare and file state income tax return(s). Only on can you prepare and file or e-file unlimited state tax returns for one low price and not pay for each state return like you would do on H&R Block® vs. TurboTax®. Dare to compare now.