Site Menu

How to File an Amended Utah Tax Return

Utah State Taxes
amend Utah taxes
Utah
"The Beehive State"

When Do I Need To File a Tax Amendment in Utah?

Your Utah state tax amendment should be filed within 3 years of the filing deadline for the original tax return, or 2 years from the time when tax was paid (whichever is later).

How Do I Correct My Accepted Utah Tax Return or File an Amended Utah Tax Return?

You will need to prepare and file a tax amendment form for Utah. Here how:

  1. Download and complete Form TC-40 yourself.
  2. When you're done, print out the form and mail it to one of the following addresses: Utah State Tax Commission, 210 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, Utah 84134-0260 (refund) or Utah State Tax Commission, 210 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, Utah 84134-0266 (not expecting a refund or owe a tax payment) 

Utah State Tax Amendment Forms (Download, Fill Out, Print Out, and Mail)

Fill out Form TC-40 for the corresponding year, specifying that this is an amended return.

Form (Tax Year) Description
Form TC-40 (2016) Utah Individual Income Tax Return
Form TC-40 (2015) Utah Individual Income Tax Return
Form TC-40 (2014) Utah Individual Income Tax Return
Form TC-40 (2013) Utah Individual Income Tax Return
Form TC-40 (2012) Utah Individual Income Tax Return
Form TC-40 (2011) Utah Individual Income Tax Return

How Do I Check the Status of My Utah Tax Amendment?

Call the Utah State Tax Commission at 801-297-2200 or 800-662-4335.

What Are the Penalties, Interest, and Fees Related to Utah State Amended Tax Returns?

Here are the late filing and late payment penalties:

1 – 5 days you file your tax return after the due date: Greater of $20 or 2% of unpaid tax

6 – 15 days you file your tax return after the due date: Greater of $20 or 5% of unpaid tax

16 or more days you file your tax return after the due date: Greater of $20 or 10% of unpaid tax

Utah also charges interest on unpaid tax.

Interest Rates on Unpaid or Underpaid Taxes

Year(s) Interest Rate
2017 3%
2012-2016 2%
2010-2011 3%

 

The following formula is used to compute interest:

Unpaid Tax x Interest rate x Number of Days/365

Where Do I Mail My Utah State Tax Amendment? - Utah Mailing Address:

If you are expecting a refund, mail your return to:

Utah State Tax Commission
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134-0260

If you aren't expecting a refund or have to pay then mail your return to:

Utah State Tax Commission
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134-0266

Utah State Tax Commission Phone Numbers: 801-297-2200 or 800-662-4335

Utah Tax Commission

Where Do I Find More Information on Utah Income Taxes?

How Do I File My Utah Tax Return Only?

Where is my Utah State Tax Refund?

Utah Tax Extension

Utah State Taxes

What If If Need to Fix My Accepted IRS Tax Return?

Learn how to amend your federal income taxes.