South Dakota, SD State Income Taxes

efile South Dakota tax return
South Dakota
"The Mount Rushmore State"

Since South Dakota does not collect an income tax on individuals, you are not required to file a SD State Income Tax Return. However, you may need to prepare and eFile a Federal Income Tax Return. 

Start Federal Income Tax Return


South Dakota Tax Facts, Information

South Dakota Tax Information and Contacts

SD Tax Type
South Dakota Income Tax Code
South Dakota has no personal income tax code.
South Dakota's sales tax rate is 4.5%. There may be additional sales and use taxes at the local level.
South Dakota Tax Fact
South Dakota has a "cider tax." The imposed tax is $0.28 per gallon of cider sold.
South Dakota State Tax Agency Contacts
For Mailing Addresses and other contact information contact the SD Department of Revenue


South Dakota Unemployment Benefits

Unemployment benefits are not subject to income taxes since South Dakota does not collect individual income tax.

Other U.S. States, Territories, and Protectorates.