Alaska, AK State Income Taxes

efile Alaska tax return
"The Last Frontier"

Since Alaska does not levy an income tax on individuals, you are not required to file an AK State Income Tax Return. However, you may need to prepare and efile a Federal Income Tax Return. Access other State tax information pages here on

Start Federal Income Tax Return


Alaska Tax Facts, Information

Alaska Tax Information and Contacts

AK Tax Type
Alaska Income Tax Code
Alaska has no personal income tax code.
The state doesn't charge a state sales tax. However, sales tax is imposed at the local level, with 62 municipalities collecting general sales taxes between 1% and 7.5%. Other types of local taxes are collected for the followings categories:
  • Fishing businesses
  • Alcoholic beverages and tobacco
  • Gaming
  • New tire purchases
  • Motor fuel transfers
Alaska Tax Fact
Alaska is the only state that doesn't levy an income tax on any type of personal income (earned or unearned) or collect a state sales tax.
Alaska Marriage Penalty
Alaska State Tax Agency Contacts
For Mailing Addresses and other contact information contact the AK Department of Revenue


Alaska Unemployment Benefits

Alaska also does not tax unemployment compensation.

Other U.S. States, Territories, and Protectorates.