Florida Income Taxes

efile Florida tax return
"The Sunshine State"

Start a Federal Tax Return

FL Income Tax Filing Deadline

Florida does not levy an income tax on individuals. Therefore, you do not need to file a FL state tax return.

Florida Tax Facts

FL Income Tax

Florida has no personal income tax.

FL Sales Tax

The state of Florida has a 6% sales tax. Counties impose additional local sales taxes, ranging from 0.25%-2.5%.

More information on Florida Sales Tax

FL Sales Tax Holiday

Florida has two sales tax holidays. The first sales tax holiday usually occurs for nine days between the end of May and the beginning of June. The second sales tax holiday usually occurs on the first weekend of August (midnight Friday through midnight Sunday). Certain items are exempt from Florida sales tax. However, the FL consumer will only receive the tax exemption if a specific total spending limit is met.

Refer to the chart below for Florida sales tax holidays for 2019. We will update it once the state tax agency releases the dates.

Sales Tax Holiday
Sales Tax Holiday Items Included
August 2019
  • School supplies: $15 or less
  • Clothing, footwear, and certain accessories: $60 or less
  • Personal computers: $750 or less

FL Personal Property Tax

In Florida, all tangible property is subject to local personal property taxes after factoring in a $25,000 exemption for tangible property and a $50,000 homestead exemption for real estate (for primary residences only).

Odd Florida Tax Fact

United States and Florida flags are exempt from sales tax in Florida.

Florida State Tax Agency Contacts

You can contact the Florida Department of Revenue at 850-488-6800.

For more information on Florida state income taxes, you can visit the website of The Florida Department of Revenue.

See other U.S. States, Territories, and Protectorates.