How to File a New Jersey Tax Amendment
When Do I Need to File an Amended New Jersey Tax Return?
If the IRS made changes to your federal income tax return, you must file a tax amendment from notifying the state of New Jersey within 90 days of receiving final notice from the IRS.
If you are expecting a refund, then you must file within a period of 3 years since the filing deadline of the original tax return.
How Do I File a Tax Amendment in New Jersey or Correct My Accepted New Jersey Tax Return?
If there were changes in your previously filed tax return, then you must file a tax amendment. You have two options to file an amended New Jersey return:
- Download and complete Form NJ-1040X (residents) or Form NJ-1040NR (nonresidents and part-year residents) yourself. When you're done, print out your return and mail it to one of the following addresses: State of New Jersey, Division of Taxation, Revenue Processing Center – Payments, P.O. Box 111, Trenton NJ 08645-0111 (if payment attached) or State of New Jersey, Division of Taxation, Revenue Processing Center – Refunds, P.O. Box 555, Trenton NJ 08647-0555 (if no payment attached) OR
- File your New Jersey state tax amendment with the help of an efile TaxPro! Enjoy all the benefits of working with a TaxPro, including:
- Receiving answers to your tax questions from a licensed CPA!
- Enjoying the peace of mind that your taxes are being handled by a tax professional!
Learn more about how to prepare and file a NJ state tax amendment with an efile TaxPro!
Start Working with a Tax Professional Now!
New Jersey State Tax Amendment Forms (Download, Complete, Fill Out, and Mail)
If you are a resident of the state of New Jersey, fill out form NJ-1040X for the corresponding year.
If you are a nonresident or a part-year resident of the state of New Jersey, fill out form NJ-1040NR for the corresponding year, making sure to write the word "AMENDED" in bold letters on the top right corner of the tax return form.
A resident is defined as someone who is domiciled, maintaining a permanent home, in the state of New Jersey and spends at least 183 days in the state. A nonresident is someone who doesn't meet those requirements.
If a part-year resident obtains income from the state of New Jersey during the timeframe of being a nonresident, then both forms may have to be filed.
Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Forms
How Do I Check My Amended New Jersey Tax Return Status?
Call the New Jersey Department of Revenue at 609-292-6400.
What Are the Penalties, Interest, and Fees Associated With New Jersey Tax Amendments?
The New Jersey Division of Taxation may impose several penalties on taxpayers for violations. They include late filing penalty as well as a late payment penalty. A late filing penalty is assessed when the taxpayer fails to file by the specified deadline. The penalty amounts to 5% of the total tax due per month, but will not exceed 25% of the total tax due. A $100 fee may be charged as well for each month past the due date that the return hasn't been filed.
A late payment penalty is imposed when the taxpayer fails to pay the tax by the due date, and amounts to 5% of the tax due.
Interest is also collected on overdue tax payments, and amounts to 3% greater than the federally established prime interest rate.
Where Do I Mail My Amended New Jersey Tax Return? - New Jersey Mailing Address:
If payment is attached, mail to:
State of New Jersey
Division of Taxation
Revenue Processing Center – Payments
P.O. Box 111
Trenton NJ 08645-0111
If no payment is attached, mail to:
State of New Jersey
Division of Taxation
Revenue Processing Center – Refunds
P.O. Box 555
Trenton NJ 08647-0555
New Jersey Department of Revenue Phone Number: 609-292-6400
New Jersey Department of Revenue
Where Can I Find More New Jersey Tax Information?
How Do I Only File My New Jersey Tax Return?
Where is my New Jersey State Tax Refund?
New Jersey Extension
New Jersey Income Taxes
What If I Need to Amend My Federal Tax Return?
Learn how to file an IRS tax amendment.