Site Menu

Mississippi Income Taxes and MS State Tax Forms


Start Federal and Mississippi State Tax Returns

efile Mississippi tax return
"The Magnolia State"

Prepare and efile Your Mississippi Tax Return

The tax software makes it easy for you to efile your state tax return and use the correct state tax forms. Prepare and efile your Mississippi state tax return (resident, nonresident, or part-year resident) and Federal tax return together or separately at View the federal tax return filing requirements.

Mississippi Income Tax Filing Deadline

The regular deadline to file a Mississippi state income tax return is April 15.

Tax Deadline Date Type of Income Tax Return Filing Deadline / Due Date Description
April 18, 2018 2017 Mississippi State Tax Return Due date for Mississippi State Income Tax Returns - income tax filing deadline
April 18, 2018 2017 Mississippi State Tax Extension Due date for Mississippi extensions
October 15, 2018 2017 Mississippi State Tax Return Last day to efile a 2017 Mississippi State Income Tax Return for tax extension filers and late efilers

View all state tax return filing deadlines.

Find federal income tax return filing deadlines.

Tax Year 2017 Mississippi State Tax Forms

All of the following Mississippi state tax forms are supported by the software:

Form/Schedule Description Can I efile this form?
Form 71-661 Installment Agreement


Form 80-105 Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-108 Adjustments And Contributions
Form 80-160 Credit for Tax Paid Another State
Form 80-205 Non-Resident/Part-Year Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-315 Reforestation Tax Credit
Form 80-320 Interest on Underpayment of Estimate [Interest and Penalty Worksheet]
Form 80-340 Reservation Indian Income Exclusion

Mississippi State Tax Forms That Cannot Be efiled

Mississippi State Tax Withholding Form

Form Description
Form 89-350 Mississippi Employee's Withholding Exemption Certificate

MS Tax Extension

Extension Form Mississippi Extension Instructions How to File

No State Extension Form

If you need more time to file your Mississippi return and you owe any tax payments, you may qualify for an automatic 6-month extension to file your MS state tax return if you received an extension of time to file your federal income tax return. You will need to attach a copy of your federal extension form, Form 4868, with your MS state tax return when you file. Mississippi no longer has a state extension form.

You must include your entire check or money order with payment voucher Form 80-106 on or before April 18. Otherwise, you will owe interest and penalty from April 18, 2018 to date of payment. The interest rate is 1 percent (1%) per month and the penalty rate is ½ of 1 percent (.5%) per month or part of a month from April 18, 2018 until the date the final payment is received. Late payment penalty will accrue to a maximum of 25 percent (25%). Late payment penalty and interest apply to any unpaid tax after April 18, 2018.

The penalty imposed for failure to file a return is 5% per month not to exceed 25% in the aggregate. The penalty imposed for failure to file is based on the additional amount of tax due. Such failure to file a return penalty shall not be less than $100.

If payment is not due, you do not need to file an extension to get a MS state tax return extension. When you file your MS state return, do not include any extension form with the return.

Attach a copy of federal Form 4868 to your state return

Important Reminder! If you are efiling a Mississippi tax extension you may need to efile a federal tax extension as well.

MS Tax Amendment

Mississippi amended tax returns cannot be efiled; they can only be filed by mail. Learn how to prepare and file a Mississippi state tax amendment.

Important Reminder! If you are filing an Alabama tax amendment, you may need to file a federal tax amendment as well.

2016 Past Year Mississippi Tax Forms

Mississippi tax returns for 2016 and other previous Tax Years cannot be prepared and filed online. Download the tax forms, complete them, and mail them to the Mississippi Tax Commission.
Form/Schedule Description How to File
Form 71-661 Installment Agreement

Download, complete, print out, sign, and mail

Form 80-105 Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-108 Adjustments And Contributions
Form 80-160 Credit for Tax Paid Another State
Form 80-205 Non-Resident/Part-Year Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-315 Reforestation Tax Credit
Form 80-320 Interest on Underpayment of Estimate [Interest and Penalty Worksheet]
Form 80-340 Reservation Indian Income Exclusion

Where's My Refund? - Check Your Mississippi State Tax Refund Status

If you efiled your MS tax return, you should expect your refund to be issued within 14 business days. Contact your online tax preparer if your return was efiled more than 7 days ago Please allow an additional 15 days before you attempt any further communication with the Department of Revenue.

If you filed your return on paper, it may take 8-10 weeks from the date the return was received to be processed. After your return has been processed and accepted, you can contact the Mississippi Tax Commission for information about your state tax refund.

Check your Mississippi refund tax return status online.

MS efile Error Codes

If your Mississippi state return was rejected, you will receive an error reject code. If you prepared and efiled your return on, we will provide you with an explanation of how to correct the error on your return. You may then resubmit your state return at no additional charge until it is accepted by the state.

View a list of all Mississippi State efile Income Tax Return Error Reject Codes.

Mississippi Tax Facts

MS Income Tax:

Individual income is taxed across three tax brackets.

The tax brackets for single taxpayers are:

  • 3% for the first $5,000 of taxable income
  • 4% for taxable incomes between $5,001 and $10,000
  • 5% for taxable incomes $10,001 and above

Married couples filing a combined return (for both spouses working, for example) can choose to have each spouse calculate his or her own tax liability separately, and then add the results.

MS Sales Tax:

Mississippi has a retail sales and use tax rate of 7%. Some jurisdictions collect additional economic development and tourism taxes.

More information on Mississippi Sales Tax

MS Sales Tax Holiday:

Mississippi has two annual sales tax holiday, which usually occur on the last weekend of July (midnight Friday through midnight Saturday) and the first weekend of September (first Friday through midnight the following Sunday). During these holidays, certain items are exempt from Mississippi sales tax. However, the MS consumer will only receive the tax exemption if a specific total spending limit is met.

Refer to the chart below for all Mississippi sales tax holidays for 2018.

Sales Tax Holiday Dates Sales Tax Holiday Items Included
July 27-28, 2018
  • Clothing & footwear: less than $100

Note: Items that don't qualify for the sales tax holiday include accessories (jewelry, wallets, handbags, backpacks, watches, backpacks, etc.), items worn for recreational or athletic activity (cleats), school supplies, and computers.

August 24-26, 2018
  • Firearms, ammunition, archery equipment, and certain hunting supplies

Note: Does not apply to animals used for hunting.

MS Personal Property Tax:

Taxable personal property is divided into 5 classes and is assessed at a percentage of its true value, for assessment purposes for ad valorem taxes:

  • Class I: Single-family owner-occupied, residential real property (10%)
  • Class II: All other real property (15%)
  • Class III: Personal property (15%)
  • Class IV: Public service property assessed by the county or state (30%)
  • Class V: Motor vehicles (30%)

Odd Tax Fact:

Mississippi's Head of Household filing status is dubbed "Head of Family".

MS State Tax Agency:

For more information, you can visit the website of The Mississippi Department of Revenue.

U.S. States:
Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

U.S. territories and protectorates:
American Samoa | Guam | Northern Mariana Islands | Puerto Rico | U.S. Virgin Islands